Alberta Conference Constituents Elect a New President and Secretary/VP for Administration

Alberta Seventh-day Adventist Conference delegates gathered on October 2, 2016 at the College Heights Seventh-day Adventist Church in Lacombe, Alberta to conduct their quadrennial constituency session. Along with numerous reports received and bylaws changes, Alberta Conference delegates elected Gary Hodder as president, Wayne Williams as secretary/vice president for administration, and re-elected Keith Richter as treasurer.

Hodder (currently executive secretary for the Ontario Conference) replaces Ken Wiebe, whose retirement became effective at the end of the session and Williams (currently a pastor in the Ontario Conference) replaces Larry Hall, whose retirement also became effective at the end of the session. Richter has been with the Alberta Conference since 2006, serving as treasurer since 2011.

Dan Jackson, North American Division president, started the day off by sharing a powerful message about Jonah. “God is in the people-changing business,” stated Jackson.

Delegates approved the following two major bylaws changes:

  • Voted to implement a quinquennial (every 5 years) session in alignment with other Canadian conferences and the Seventh-day Adventist Church in Canada (SDACC).
  • Voted that departmental directors and associate directors be evaluated by EXCOM within a year after each regular quinquennial session.

Ken Wiebe gave some encouraging closing remarks before SDACC executive secretary, Daniel Stojanovic, dismissed the delegates with prayer.

The day’s proceedings were posted live to Alberta Conference social media feeds such as Facebook and Twitter. Further comments or questions about the session can be directed to Keith Richter, treasurer.