Ontario Re-Elects President and Treasurer and Elects New Secretary

image-2790.jpgDelegates overwhelmingly re-elected Mansfield Edwards and Ulysses Guarin as conference president and treasurer, respectively during the 33rd constituency meeting of Ontario Conference of Seventh-day Adventists, August 23-25, 2013 at College Park Seventh-day Adventist Church in Oshawa.

“I am deeply humbled by your confidence in me to serve God in this capacity for another four years,” Edwards told delegates. “It is a privilege to serve with you, and I look forward to working with you so that, together, we may participate in and witness the fulfilment of the Gospel Commission in Ontario.”

He expressed his gratitude to his fellow administrators, directors and office staff for their support but reserved a special “thank you” for his wife, Sharon, whom he introduced to the delegates as his “prayer partner”.

The nomination of Gary Hodder, lead pastor of College Park Seventh-day Adventist Church, and formerly president of the Newfoundland and Labrador Mission, as executive secretary surprised many delegates. The incumbent, Daniel Linrud, had served one term. However, the delegates again overwhelmingly ratified the nomination. Gary Hodder was voted executive secretary.

The significant contribution of Daniel Linrud would not be overlooked. To the approval of delegates, Edwards warmly thanked Dr. Linrud for his service and contribution. Delegates demonstrated their appreciation for Linrud’s service by standing and enthusiastically applauding him.

Ulysses Guarin was re-elected as treasurer for a fourth successive term. He too expressed his humility at being chosen as well as his appreciation for the confidence of the delegation.

Earlier in the day, incumbents Theodore Sargeant (ADRA representative/Community Services/ Adult Sabbath School), Edwin Martin (Adventurers/Pathfinders/Master Guides), Glenn DeSilva (Camp Frenda/Men’s Ministry) and Joan Rogers (Family/Women and Singles Ministries) were elected.


Contributed by: Halsey Peat, Communication Director, Ontario Conference